LATKES! MY FAVOURITE :)

 

 

img_5869 

 

Firstly, Happy New Years to all of you!  I wish for a happy, healthy, peaceful, positive and prosperous 2017 to each and every one of you 🙂  Thank you for following along!  It’s been awhile since I’ve blogged, so I thought I should sit down and start the new year off right!

A couple of times a year I make Latkes for supper and that is the entire meal.  Probably not the healthiest meal as they are fried but sooooo tasty ha ha.

INGREDIENTS:

6 – 8 russet potatoes

1/2 medium onion grated

1/4 cup all purpose flour

3 eggs

2 tsp of baking powder

salt and pepper to taste

canola oil

sour cream

apple sauce

I start off peeling russet potatoes and putting them into a large bowl of cold water.  Once they are all peeled I grate them using my Kitchen Aid food processor. I use the smaller grate setting as the pancakes tend to cook quicker.  Before I had my food processor I used to grate the potatoes by hand and it made shreds thin enough that they cooked well, but it was just too hard on my hands grating all those potatoes.

img_5874

Once you have grated all the potatoes put them into a large bowl handful by handful after squeezing them to remove a lot of the liquid.  You will end up with a lot of orange coloured water with a lot of potato starch in the bottom of the bowl which you can throw out. They oxidize with being out in the air. They start going white again once you start cooking them.

Add the grated onion, flour, eggs, baking powder and salt and pepper and mix thoroughly.  I use my hands for this as well or you can end up with clumps of flour and egg.

img_5880

 

Heat approx. 1/4″ canola oil in a frying pan and once heated, drop 1/3 cup approx. of potato mixture into oil and flatten slightly so they cook evenly.  I set the element on high as I have a gas cook top.  I also use 2 frying pans to make the process go a bit quicker.

As each batch is done I put them on a paper towel lined cookie sheet and keep in a 300 F degree oven to warm until ready to eat.

Once all cooked its time to eat! Best part by far!! Sour cream and apple sauce and salt and pepper.  We sometimes have a few left and they can be heated up in the toaster oven for breakfast or lunch next day.

I made the first batch using 3/4 of a russet potato,  4″ piece of zucchini, and 1 small carrot and a small piece of onion and they tasted quite good.  A good way to get in additional veggies if you have kids :).

It’s a great meal. Enjoy!!

As always…LIVE LIFE FULLY ❤

~Charlene

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

